Indexing with the Thesaurus

The Government of Canada Core Subject Thesaurus is a post-coordinated controlled vocabulary. Unlike a pre-coordinated vocabulary, in which concepts are combined at the time of indexing to form more complex ideas, a post-coordinated vocabulary mainly proposes unitary concepts which are combined by the searcher only at the searching stage.

Compliance with the following indexing rules will ensure a greater uniformity in assigning indexing terms (preferred terms). By following the rules, all the Government of Canada Core Subject Thesaurus users will represent the same concepts the same way in the "Subject" metadata element.

For more information on how to index Government of Canada information resources in accordance with the Treasury Board of Canada standards, please consult the Government of Canada Metadata Implementation Guidelines for Web Resource Discovery.

Indexing rules

1. Specificity

It is important to choose the most specific terms available when describing the subject of a document. Thus, a resource about aquatic birds should be indexed with the preferred term "Aquatic birds" rather than with the broader terms "Birds" and "Aquatic animals".

Similarly, a document about birds in general should be indexed with the preferred term "Birds" rather than with the broader term "Animals" or the narrower terms "Aquatic birds" and "Migratory birds".

As a general rule, a document should not be indexed with both broader and narrower terms from a same hierarchical string. However, it would be necessary, for example, to index a resource about birds in general, which also included a substantial section on migratory birds using both "Birds" and "Migratory birds" as preferred terms.

The semantic structure of the thesaurus is very useful for identifying the appropriate preferred terms. Relationships between terms (broader term, narrower term and related term), as well as scope notes, help to define the meaning of the preferred terms, to suggest other terms that might be relevant, and therefore are aids to selecting the most adequate terms.

2. Exhaustivity

Several preferred terms are often necessary to fully express the subject of a document. For example, to index a site about transportation of toxic waste and other dangerous products by rail or by truck will be represented by the following set of preferred terms:


Hazardous materials transport
Rail transport
Road transport
Toxic substances

As far as possible, every essential concept dealt with in a document should be represented by a preferred term.

3. Consistency

It is essential to use the form of the preferred terms as presented in the Government of Canada Core Subject Thesaurus when using them in the "Subject" metadata element.

As a general rule, only the first letter of an indexing term is capitalized. Conventions are also followed in the Government of Canada Core Subject Thesaurus regarding the use of singular and plural forms. In English, count nouns (which are subject to the question "how many?") are generally in the plural form, while non-count nouns (which are subject to the question "how much?"), as well as abstract concepts, are in the singular form. In French, most terms are in the singular form.

4. Indexing language

Documents in English must be indexed with the English version of the thesaurus and documents in French with the French version. Bilingual documents should be indexed in both languages.

Indexer avec le Thésaurus

Le Thésaurus des sujets de base du gouvernement du Canada est un outil de vocabulaire contrôlé postcoordonné. Contrairement à un vocabulaire précoordonné, dans lequel les concepts sont combinés au moment de l'indexation pour former des notions plus complexes, un vocabulaire postcoordonné présente principalement des concepts unitaires qui seront combinés seulement à l'étape de la recherche.

L'observation des règles d'indexation suivantes assurera une plus grande uniformité dans l'attribution des termes d'indexation (descripteurs), faisant en sorte que tous les utilisateurs du Thésaurus des sujets de base du gouvernement du Canada représenteront les mêmes concepts de la même manière dans l'élément de métadonnées « Sujet ».

Pour plus de renseignements sur la manière d'indexer les ressources d'information du gouvernement du Canada conformément aux normes du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, veuillez consulter les Lignes directrices relatives à la mise en place des métadonnées pour la découverte des ressources Web du gouvernement du Canada.

Règles d'indexation

1. La spécificité

Il importe de décrire le sujet d'un document en choisissant les termes les plus précis possible. Ainsi, une ressource sur les oiseaux aquatiques devrait être indexée avec le descripteur « Oiseau aquatique » plutôt qu'avec les termes génériques « Oiseau » et « Animal aquatique ».

De la même manière, un document traitant des oiseaux en général devrait être indexé avec le descripteur « Oiseau » plutôt qu'avec le terme générique « Animal » ou les termes spécifiques « Oiseau aquatique » et « Oiseau migrateur ».

En règle générale, on n'indexe pas un document à la fois avec des termes générique et spécifique appartenant à une même chaîne hiérarchique. Toutefois, pour indexer une ressource portant sur les oiseaux en général qui inclurait aussi une section substantielle consacrée aux oiseaux migrateurs, il serait nécessaire d'utiliser parallèlement les descripteurs « Oiseau » et « Oiseau migrateur ».

La structure sémantique du thésaurus est d'une grande utilité lorsqu'il s'agit d'identifier les descripteurs appropriés. Les relations entre les termes (terme générique, terme spécifique et terme associé), de même que les notes explicatives, aident à préciser le sens des descripteurs et à suggérer d'autres termes qui pourraient être pertinents, facilitant ainsi la sélection des termes les plus adéquats.

2. L'exhaustivité

Plusieurs descripteurs sont souvent nécessaires pour traduire de manière exhaustive le sujet d'un document. Par exemple, pour indexer un site concernant le transport par train ou par camion de déchets toxiques et autres produits dangereux, on utilisera l'ensemble des descripteurs suivants :

Substance toxique
Transport des matières dangereuses
Transport ferroviaire
Transport routier

Toutes les notions essentielles traitées dans un document devraient, autant que possible, être représentées par des descripteurs.

3. La cohérence

Lorsqu'on utilise les descripteurs dans l'élément de métadonnées « Sujet », il est essentiel de respecter la forme des termes en les entrant tels qu'ils sont présentés dans le Thésaurus des sujets de base du gouvernement du Canada.

En règle générale, seule la première lettre d'un terme d'indexation prend la majuscule. Des conventions sont également observées dans le Thésaurus des sujets de base du gouvernement du Canada quant à l'usage du singulier et du pluriel des termes. En français, la plupart des termes sont au singulier. En anglais, les noms dénombrables (qu'on peut soumettre à la question « how many? ») sont généralement au pluriel, alors que ceux qui sont non dénombrables (qu'on peut soumettre à la question « how much? »), de même que les concepts abstraits, sont au singulier.

4. La langue d'indexation

L'indexation des documents en français doit se faire à l'aide de la version française du thésaurus; celle des documents en anglais, à l'aide de la version anglaise. Les documents bilingues, eux, doivent être indexés dans les deux langues.